Nathan’s hot dog contest 2024 goes to Patrick Bertoletti with Joey Chestnut sidelined

Patrick Bertoletti competes in the mens competition at Nathan's Annual Hot Dog Eating Contest on July 4, 2024 in New York City.  (Photo by Adam Gray/Getty Images)

Patrick Bertoletti of Chicago devoured 58 hot dogs to win his first men's title at the annual Nathan's Famous Fourth of July hot dog eating contest. The 39-year-old emerged victorious in a tight, 10-minute competition that saw the lead change multiple times, the Associated Press reported on Thursday. 

Bertoletti beat 13 competitors from around the globe, showcasing his determination to out-eat them all. 

"I wasn’t going to stop eating until the job was done," Bertoletti said after his win. 

He surpassed his previous record of 55 hot dogs at the iconic event held on New York's Coney Island.

Joey Chestnut absent over sponsorship dispute

The reigning men’s champion, Joey "Jaws" Chestnut, did not compete this year due to a sponsorship disagreement. Instead, Chestnut chose to participate in an exhibition against soldiers at a U.S. Army base in El Paso. Chestnut, who won 16 out of the last 17 contests, will compete later in the day.

Bertoletti attributed his win to three months of rigorous preparation and weight loss. "With Joey not here, I knew I had a shot," he said. "I was able to unlock something that I don’t know where it came from. But I’m not complaining."

Miki Sudo sets new women's world record

Earlier in the day, Miki Sudo of Florida secured her 10th title in the women's division by eating 51 hot dogs in 10 minutes, setting a new world record for women. "I’m just happy to call this mine for another year," Sudo said after claiming her 10th pink belt. Last year, Sudo won with 39 1/2 hot dogs.

READ MORE: Tampa resident Miki Sudo breaks women's hot dog eating contest record

Competitors from over a dozen states and five continents gathered at Coney Island for the coveted title and $10,000 prize. Participants hailed from Brazil, Japan, the United Kingdom, South Korea, Australia, and the Czech Republic.

The Associated Press contributed to this story. It was reported from Los Angeles.